The History of Big Creek
Big Creek Elementary School is one with a storied past and a very fine presence.
The building was originally opened in 1939. From that point until now, its history is like a fine piece of colorful tapestry. In 1939 the four room school was surrounded by a cornfield. As old pictures attest, one of the first school buses sits along side the building. The cab is made of metal and the rest made of lumber. The school had seven pot belly stoves used to keep the youngsters warm in the winter.
The rich traditions began to accumulate in the 1939 year. From that period, there came seven additions as the population of South Forsyth began to grow. Big Creek has sent children to each of five new schools: Brookwood, Daves Creek, Settles Bridge, Sharon, and Shiloh Point. Our school zone has shrunk mightily, but the youngsters kept coming. We have had as many as 1400 students while parents have so many times mentioned the maintenance of a warm and comfortable atmosphere.
None of these wonderful awards could have happened had it not been for our dedicated and fine staff, the interest and support of our parents and most of all our many wonderful students.
Big Creek has a bright future. Wouldn’t you like to a part of it?