Staff Directory Calendar itslearning
Local School Council

Big Creek's Local School Council members for 2015-2016:
 
 
Parent Rep - Robin Bowers robin.bowers@verizonwireless.com 
 
Parent Rep  - Chris Naffkey  Christopher_Naffky@cable.comcast.com
 
Parent Rep - Priya Nighokjar priya.bgpta@gmail.com 
 
Parent Rep - Tara Shannon  tara2920@gmail.com
 
Parent Rep -  Victor Williams cvwilliams0813@gmail.com 
 
Business Partner - Hemanth DK Singh  hemanthsingh@yahoo.com
 
Teacher Rep - Amy Petrella  APetrella@forsyth.k12.ga.us 
  
Teacher Rep - Krista Chasez  KChasez@forsyth.k12.ga.us
 
Principal - Sherri Black  sblack@forsyth.k12.ga.us

 
Meeting dates:
 

Meeting Dates: 1:30-2:30
FOCR at BCES
September 21, 2015
November 16, 2015
January 25, 2016
March TBD, 2016 7:45am at PGMS

 

All meetings are at 1:30 in the conference room.

 
LSC meeting agendas and minutes are located in eBoard by selecting "meetings" from the channel bar that runs horizontally across the top of the page. From the drop down menu, select the name of the LSC you are seeking.
 

Forsyth County Schools has a strong tradition of local school governance involving staff, parent and community partners. Originally called Local School Advisory Councils (LSACs), FCS converted to Local School Councils (LSCs) in 2000 under Georgia's the A+ Education Reform Act.   
 
Councils are comprised of a minimum of seven council members, including the principal, at least two certified teachers elected by teachers, parents (who make up the majority of the council, with at least 2 being businesspersons) and other members as specified in the bylaws.
 
The Local School Council was established to help communities and schools work closer together in a spirit of cooperation to "solve difficult educational problems, improve academic achievement, provide support for teachers and administrators, and bring parents into the school-based, decision-making process."
 
LSCs are advisory bodies that provide recommendations to the school principal and FC Board of Education. Councils meet at least four times a year annually. All meetings and corresponding minutes are open to the public.

 

 

Last Modified on August 19, 2015