Staff Directory Calendar itslearning

Local School Council

Big Creek's Local School Council members for 2013-2014:
Parent Rep/Working/Business Partner/Chair - Deanna Kesserwani
Parent Rep/Working/Business Partner - Jim Riddle
Parent Rep  - Erika Ralph
Parent Rep - Paula Strickland
Teacher Rep - Krista Jones
Teacher Rep - Heather Smith
Principal - Sherri Black

Meeting dates:


11/11/13 - rescheduled to 11/18/13


March - Friday, March 14that 7:45am, in the Piney Grove Middle School Media Center

All meetings are at 1:30 in the conference room.

LSC meeting agendas and minutes are located in eBoard by selecting "meetings" from the channel bar that runs horizontally across the top of the page. From the drop down menu, select the name of the LSC you are seeking.

Forsyth County Schools has a strong tradition of local school governance involving staff, parent and community partners. Originally called Local School Advisory Councils (LSACs), FCS converted to Local School Councils (LSCs) in 2000 under Georgia's the A+ Education Reform Act.   
Councils are comprised of a minimum of seven council members, including the principal, at least two certified teachers elected by teachers, parents (who make up the majority of the council, with at least 2 being businesspersons) and other members as specified in the bylaws.
The Local School Council was established to help communities and schools work closer together in a spirit of cooperation to "solve difficult educational problems, improve academic achievement, provide support for teachers and administrators, and bring parents into the school-based, decision-making process."
LSCs are advisory bodies that provide recommendations to the school principal and FC Board of Education. Councils meet at least four times a year annually. All meetings and corresponding minutes are open to the public.



Last Modified on March 10, 2014