Staff Directory Calendar itslearning

Local School Council  

 

Forsyth County Schools has a strong tradition of local school governance involving staff, parent and community partners. Originally called Local School Advisory Councils (LSACs), FCS converted to Local School Councils (LSCs) in 2000 under Georgia's the A+ Education Reform Act.   
 
FCS has active LSCS in all schools, with the exception of those school that have been open for less than a year. Councils are comprised of a minimum of seven council members, including the principal, at least two certified teachers elected by teachers, parents (who make up the majority of the council, with at least 2 being business persons) and other members as specified in the bylaws.
 
LSCs are advisory bodies that provide recommendations to the school principal and FC Board of Education. Councils meet at least four times a year annually. All meetings and corresponding minutes are open to the public.
 
LSC meeting agendas and minutes are located in eBoard by selecting "meetings" from the channel bar that runs horizontally across the top of the page. From the drop down menu, select the name of the LSC you are seeking.
 
LSC meeting minutes are also included in monthly BOE meeting agendas and annual LSC recommendations are presented to the BOE each spring. Both the minutes and recommendations can be viewed at eBoard. To view the minutes, select "meetings" from the channel bar and then select a BOE regular meeting date. When the agenda appears, scroll to the bottom of it and select "Local School Council Minutes".
   
Please visit the FCSS LSC page for further information.
 
 

Member

Position

Email

Brian Tam

FCS Parent/Business Partner (term ends 5-13)

brtam@bellsouth.net

Debbie Smith

Principal

dsmith@forsyth.k12.ga.us

Penni Arner

Teacher (term ends 5-14)

parner@forsyth.k12.ga.us

Charlie Gray

Parent/Business Partner (term ends 8-13)

cgray@advanceddisposal.com

Paul Hendrixson (Chair Person)

Parent/Business Partner (term ends 8-13)

paul@insertmoldingsolutions.com

Lisa Achilles

Parent

achillesl@bellsouth.net

Kara Lurie

Parent/PTO (term ends 8-13)

kwlurie@bellsouth.net

Kathy Galbraith (Secretary)

Parent (term ends 8-13)

gatorgalbraith@yahoo.com

Katie Ware

Parent/Business Partner (term ends 8-14)

keware@comcast.net


 
 
 
 
 
Last Modified on August 14, 2013