Forsyth County



    Candidates for Forsyth County's Teacher of the Year program should be an exceptionally dedicated, knowledgeable, and skilled teacher who:
    • plans to continue in active teaching status
    • inspires students of all backgrounds and abilities to learn
    • possesses the respect and admiration of students, parents, and colleagues
    • plays an active and useful role in the community as well as in the school; and
    • is poised and articulate
    Classroom teachers in pre-kindergarten through grade 12 are eligible for FCS' TOTY. This includes special education, physical education, ITS, art and music teachers, and media specialists. Counselors are not eligible, but are recognized as part of the Counselor of the Year program. Candidates for the FCS TOTY should have two or more years of experience, have a full time teaching position and spend the majority of their time teaching students in a classroom setting. Supervisory and administrative responsibilities should be of secondary consideration.
    2014: Kristen Deuschle (Piney Grove Middle)
    2013: Nick Crowder (South Forsyth High)
    2012: Anna Aigner  (Forsyth Central High)
    2011: Natalie Kitchen (Lambert High)
    2010: Robin Neal (Matt Elementary)
    2009: Jenna Ward (Otwell Middle)
    2008: Suzy Besson-Martilotta (Chattahoochee Elementary)
    2007: Melissa Sessa (Otwell Middle)
    2006: Mike Sloop (Otwell Middle)
    2005: Ronnie McNeese (Otwell Middle)
    2004: Polly Tennies (Chestatee Elementary)
    2003: Laura Link (North Forsyth High)
    2002: Debi Carnaroli (Matt Elementary)
    2001: Elaine Taylor (Otwell Middle)
    2000: Alice Holland (North Forsyth High)
    1998-99: Dorothy Breeze (Chattahoochee Elementary)
    1997-98: Jackie West (South Forsyth High)
    1996-97: Sandy Beck (Mashburn Elementary)
    1990-91: Kathy Vail (Forsyth Central High)
    1976: Edith Wright (Cumming Elementary)
    For more information contact Hannah Orr at

    2014 School-Level Teachers of the Year

    Big Creek Elementary

    Heather Smith - 5th Grade
    Brookwood ElementaryHeidi Morea - 5th Grade
    Chattahoochee Elementary
    Julie Landers - 5th Grade

    Chestatee Elementary

    Craig Ahrens - 5th Grade

    Coal Mountain Elementary

    Kristie Hubbard - Kindergarten

    Cumming Elementary

    Lisa Milligan - 4th Grade

    Daves Creek Elementary

    Christine Stroer - 3rd Grade
    Haw Creek ElementaryJessica Jacobs - 5th Grade

    Johns Creek Elementary

    Ginger Breyo - Gifted
    Kelly Mill ElementaryShannon Grindle - Special Education

    Mashburn Elementary

    Traci Wallace - Gifted

    Matt Elementary

    Rikki Comella - 4th Grade

    Midway Elementary

    Kim Benton - 4th :Grade

    Sawnee Elementary

    Jennifer Worful - 2nd Grade

    Settles Bridge Elementary

    Tara Stewart - Special Education

    Sharon Elementary

    Karen Elz - 4th Grade

    Shiloh Point Elementary

    Maggie Tompkins - Kindergarten

    Silver City Elementary

    Julie Auten - EIP

    Vickery Creek Elementary

    Tracey Varrone - Academic Support Specialist
    Whitlow ElementaryBrenda Mahoney - Science Specials
    Gateway AcademyJane Basler - Special Education
    Lakeside Middle Amy Poulsen -  Math

    Liberty Middle

    Amber Harbin - Special Education

    Little Mill Middle

    Jeff Woods - Gifted

    North Forsyth Middle

    NIck Sexton - Language Arts

    Otwell Middle

    Lacey Gooch - Math

    Piney Grove Middle

    Kristen Deuschle - Media Specialist

    Riverwatch Middle

    Eryne Graves - Math

    South Forsyth Middle

    Megan Connelly - Social Studies 

    Vickery Creek Middle

    Courtney Mallory - Langage Arts

    Forsyth Central High

    David Johnson - STEM Academy  Engineering
    Lambert High Lisa Robinson-Lazaro - Spanish

    North Forsyth High

    Judy Austin - English

    South Forsyth High

    Carrie Paulson - Math

    West Forsyth High

     Ken Rockelein -Science