• FORSYTH CENTRAL EXCEPTIONAL STUDENTS DEPARTMENT
    DEPARTMENT CHAIR: Julie Ellington 

     
Name Extension Email
Archer, Shannon sarcher@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Arundale, John 110211 jarudndale@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Averitt, Melanie 110170 maveritt@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bailey, David 110343 dlbailey@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bailey, Melissa 110175 mbailey@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bell, Asheley 111187 abell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Benjamin, Jordan jbenjamin@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Boyd, Sharon 111171 sboyd@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Brancheau, Keith 110181 kbrancheau@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Campbell, Faith 110185 fcampbell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Campbell, Pam 111168 pcampbell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Collings, Kate 111512 kscollings@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Conlin, Daniel 110343 dconlin@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Corin, Michele mcorin@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Day, Aurielle 111181 aday@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Duran, Stephanie 111155 sduran@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Durbin, Elizabeth edurbin@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Freedman, Claire 111552 cfreedman@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Galanis, Valerie 111503 vgalanis@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Gonzalez, Eloise 110176 egonzalez@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Gravesande, Rencia rgravesande@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Hamm, Levi 110170 lhamm@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Kaplan, Jill 110173 jkaplan@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Keeney, Samantha 110170 skeeney@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Lawrence, James 111184 jlawrence@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Livingston, Janice 111187 jlivingston@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Logan, Cindy 110157 clogan@forsyth.k12.ga.us
McAfee, Maggie 110174 mmcafee@forsyth.k12.ga.us
McConnell, Kevin kmcconnell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Nixon, Nicole 111171 nnixon@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Palacios, Christina 111181 f36487@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Patterson, Todd 111306 tapatterson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Perissi, Jami 111170 jperissi60@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Sanderson, Kaci 111170 kasanderson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Schmidt, Andrew 110170 aschmidt@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Scott, Talisa 110185 tscott@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Smith, Kristen 110181 ksmith88@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Steed, Joe 110170 jsteed@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Stroud, Andrea 110170 amstroud@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Thompson, Peyton pthompson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Trawick, Christie 111171 ctrawick@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Vonhaz, Michelle 111553 mvonhaz@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Wade, Antonio 110959 anwade@forsyth.k12.ga.us
White, Latarra 110185 f39977@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Wilson, Blessy 111175 f40154@forsyth.k12.ga.us
  • The Department for Exceptional Students provides both direct and non-direct support for students who are eligible for services through our department.

    • Supported content classes – Placement determined by the IEP committee - direct support in the classroom by the Exceptional Student Education staff to ensure IEP accommodations and interventions necessary to provide equal access to curriculum are being provided and to assist the student in making progress on his or her goals and objectives.
    • Non-direct support - Provided by the Exceptional Student Education staff through consultative services with the student and student's teachers and through monitoring of IEP accommodations and interventions, goals and objectives, related services, behavior intervention plan, and transition plan.
    • Small group content classes – Placement determined by the IEP committee – for students who struggle most with the demands of a large classroom. Taught by dual-certified (SPED and Content) teachers.
    • Small group study skills classes - Provide students extra time to focus on completion of assignments in all classes. Gen. Ed./SPED collaboration and monitoring of student progress aids in student success.
    • Extra Help Sessions – All co-teachers and small group teachers provide before and after school “extra help” sessions.
    • Computer Lab – Available before and after school for students who need computer/printer access for school related activities.
    • Small group reading remediation – Placement determined by the IEP team. Utilizes the Language! Program and taught by highly trained teachers.
    Frequently Asked Questions: 

    Where can I find out more about Forsyth County Schools Department for Exceptional Students?
    Forsyth County Schools Department for Exceptional Students Webpage 

    What are my options for transition for students with disabilities after high school (including upcoming events, local events, state resources, college preparation, Discover, and Vocational Rehabilitation? Transition 

    What is the DISCOVER program? DISCOVER program 

    What are my rights as a parent of a student with disabilities? Your Rights as a Parent