• Special Education Department – Lakeside Middle School, 2021-22

     
    Welcome to Lakeside Middle School Department for Exceptional Students Web page.  On our Website you will find a description of what we do, useful links to frequently asked questions, and a listing of our department members.
     
    Department Members
     
    Name
    Email
    Extension
    Julie Stephens-Department Chair
    431102
    Kelley Baker kbaker@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431226
    Carol Fort cfort@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431102
    Quentin Foster qfoster@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431236
    Suzanne Grabowski      sgrabowski@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431212
    Valerie Kistler vacquaviva@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432203
    Matt Miller f40221@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432231
    Aubrey Muliero f32580@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432203
    Shannon Risse srisse@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431213
    Rachel Satori   rsatori@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432141
    Elizabeth Sickler f34503@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431222
    Linda Stephen lstephen@forsyth.k12.ga.us 433009
                                                                                                   
     
    Our Speech and Language Pathologists:
      
     Kristi Wilson  kwilson@forsyth.k12.ga.us  433003
     
    Our Paraprofessionals:
     

      Karen Densmore

      Jodie Hall

      Valerie Anders

      Melinda Grest

      Mercedes Fleischman

      Helen Jensen

      Katrina Smith

      Debra Kerr

      Cristina Smith

      Cam Mason

    Marshanne Mishoe

     
     
    What we do...
     
    The Department for Exceptional Students provides direct and non-direct support for students who are eligible for services through our department.
    • Supported content classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee - direct support in the classroom by the Exceptional Student Education staff to ensure IEP accommodations and interventions necessary to provide equal access to curriculum are being provided and to assist the student in making progress on his or her goals and objectives.
    • Non-direct support - Provided by the Exceptional Student Education staff through consultative services with the student and the student's teachers and through monitoring of IEP accommodation and interventions, goals and objectives, related services, and behavior intervention plan.
    • Small group content classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee - for students who struggle most with the demands of a large classroom.  Classes are offered in English/Language Arts and Math.
    • Small group Literacy classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee and is taught by a highly trained special education teacher.  Classes are offered for Reading Literacy, Written Expression Literacy, and Organization Literacy.