• Special Education Department – Lakeside Middle School, 2017-18

     
    Welcome to Lakeside Middle School Department for Exceptional Students Web page.  On our Website you will find a description of what we do, useful links to frequently asked questions, and a listing of our department members.
     
    Department Members
     
    Name
    Email
    Extension
    Julie Stephens-Department Chair
    431117
    Joe Smart
    432241
    Rachel Satori      rsatori@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432111
    Shannon Divergilio   sdivergilio@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431236
    Suzanne Grabowski      sgrabowski@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431212
    Kelley Baker kbaker@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431226
    Rebecca Camp rcamp@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431222
    Jenny Behymer jbehymer@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432203
    Kerri Dalton kdalton@forsyth.k12.ga.us 431117
    Kelly Morton kemorton@forsyth.k12.ga.us 432241
                                                                                                   
     
    Our Speech and Language Pathologists:
      
     Ann Marie Berry  aberry@forsyth.k12.ga.us  433008
     Kristie Wilson  kwilson@forsyth.k12.ga.us  433003
     
    Our Paraprofessionals:
     

    Joseph Appio

    Karen Densmore

    Jodi Hall

    Mercedes Fleischman

    Helen Jensen
    Katrina Smith
    Debra Kerr
    Christina Smith
    Tanya Streetman
    Charles Wright
     
     
    What we do...
     
    The Department for Exceptional Students provides direct and non-direct support for students who are eligible for services through our department.
    • Supported content classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee - direct support in the classroom by the Exceptional Student Education staff to ensure IEP accommodations and interventions necessary to provide equal access to curriculum are being provided and to assist the student in making progress on his or her goals and objectives.
    • Non-direct support - Provided by the Exceptional Student Education staff through consultative services with the student and the student's teachers and through monitoring of IEP accommodation and interventions, goals and objectives, related services, and behavior intervention plan.
    • Small group content classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee - for students who struggle most with the demands of a large classroom.  Classes are offered in English/Language Arts and Math.
    • Small group Literacy classes - Placement determined by the IEP committee and is taught by a highly trained special education teacher.  Classes are offered for Reading Literacy, Written Expression Literacy, and Organization Literacy.