• FORSYTH CENTRAL EXCEPTIONAL STUDENTS DEPARTMENT
    DEPARTMENT CHAIR: Julie Ellington 

     
Name Extension Email
Arundale, John 110211 jarudndale@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Averitt, Melanie 111168 maveritt@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bailey, Melissa 110175 mbailey@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Baron, Laura 110343 lbaron@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bell, Asheley 111187 abell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Boyd, Sharon sboyd@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bradley, Brian 110213 bbradley@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Brancheau, Keith 110181 kbrancheau@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Bush, Elizabeth 110181 ebush98@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Campbell, Faith fcampbell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Campbell, Pam 111168 pcampbell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Cole, Karen 111105 kcole@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Cromie, Paul 110181 pcromie45@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Culberson, Erin 111171 eculberson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Duran, Stephanie 111155 sduran@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Ekhlas, Elisa 111170 eekhlas@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Estell, George 110181 gestell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Fernandez-Guzman, Gabriela gfernandezguzman@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Galanis, Valerie 111503 vgalanis@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Gonzalez, Eloise 110176 egonzalez@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Guerrero, Carolina cguerrero@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Herndon, Leigh kherndon@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Hixson, Joshua 110845 jhixson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Howell, Carole 111512 chowell@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Jackson, Jennifer 111181 jjackson71@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Kiser, Joy 110852 mkiser@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Liebert, Kristen kliebert@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Livingston, Janice 111187 jlivingston@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Logan, Cindy 110157 clogan@forsyth.k12.ga.us
McAfee, Maggie 110181 mmcafee@forsyth.k12.ga.us
McKenzie, Sophie 111175 smckenzie@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Mills, James 110170 jmills@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Morgan, Aurielle 111181 aumorgan@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Moton, Demarus dmoton@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Patterson, Todd 110173 tapatterson@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Perissi, Jami 111170 jperissi60@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Reiser, Emily 110172 ereiser@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Rose, Alicia arose@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Scali, Shawn 110174 sscali@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Steed, Joe 111155 jsteed@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Vonhaz, Michelle 111553 mvonhaz@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Warren, Talisa tawarren@forsyth.k12.ga.us
Watson, Kristen kwatson88@forsyth.k12.ga.us
  • The Department for Exceptional Students provides both direct and non-direct support for students who are eligible for services through our department.

    • Supported content classes – Placement determined by the IEP committee - direct support in the classroom by the Exceptional Student Education staff to ensure IEP accommodations and interventions necessary to provide equal access to curriculum are being provided and to assist the student in making progress on his or her goals and objectives.
    • Non-direct support - Provided by the Exceptional Student Education staff through consultative services with the student and student's teachers and through monitoring of IEP accommodations and interventions, goals and objectives, related services, behavior intervention plan, and transition plan.
    • Small group content classes – Placement determined by the IEP committee – for students who struggle most with the demands of a large classroom. Taught by dual-certified (SPED and Content) teachers.
    • Small group study skills classes - Provide students extra time to focus on completion of assignments in all classes. Gen. Ed./SPED collaboration and monitoring of student progress aids in student success.
    • Extra Help Sessions – All co-teachers and small group teachers provide before and after school “extra help” sessions.
    • Computer Lab – Available before and after school for students who need computer/printer access for school related activities.
    • Small group reading remediation – Placement determined by the IEP team. Utilizes the Language! Program and taught by highly trained teachers.
    Frequently Asked Questions: 

    Where can I find out more about Forsyth County Schools Department for Exceptional Students?
    Forsyth County Schools Department for Exceptional Students Webpage 

    What are my options for transition for students with disabilities after high school (including upcoming events, local events, state resources, college preparation, Discover, and Vocational Rehabilitation? Transition 

    What is the DISCOVER program? DISCOVER program 

    What are my rights as a parent of a student with disabilities? Your Rights as a Parent