•  

    Welcome to the Science Department at Hendricks!

     

     

    6th Grade Earth Science

    Sixth grade Earth Science is an exciting new adventure in the lives of young scientists! In sixth grade, we use the content of the Earth science disciplines (Astronomy, Geology, Hydrology, Meteorology, and Environmental Science) to teach and emphasize the basic skills of science such as inquiry, critical thinking, laboratory skills, analyzing and interpreting data, asking questions, communicating information and more. 

     

    Earth science is not only about what it means to do and study science, but also about what it means to be good stewards of Earth’s resources. These skills will help set up the scientific foundation that students will need not only for the rest of their middle school science career, but also through high school and beyond. 

     

    Our sixth grade science team cannot wait to meet all of our new Hawks!

     

    Sarah Sterner: ssterner@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    Paige Isner: pisner19@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    Mauralyn Monroe: mmonroe@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    7th Grade Life Science

    In 7th Grade Life Science we explore the genetic components of living organisms and what makes something living. The units of investigation that we will be immersed in include; Classification of Living Things, Cells, Human Body Systems, Genetics, CHange over Time, Biomes and Ecology. 

    We investigate everything from the smallest workings of life to the interactions of life and the environment as a whole. We will explore how all the elements of life work together to keep organisms alive and contribute to the continuation and evolution of a species. Finally, we will explore how life functions on Earth by interacting and forming relationships between living things on this planet. 

    Come join us for a fun exploration of life on this planet!

    Melodi Sterner: msterner@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Madison Mason: mmason@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Kaitlyn Dodd: kdodd15@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    8th Grade Physical Science

    Students in the 8th grade complete the High School Physical Science class for high school credit. This course consists of both chemistry and physics concepts. Each semester is broken into the two main concepts.  First Semester will focus on the Chemistry concepts of: Atomic Structure and the Periodic Table, Chemical Bonds and Balancing Chemical Equations, Fission and Fusion, Radioactivity, Solutions, Acids and Bases, Gas Laws, Energy and Energy Transformations. Second semester will cover the Physics Concepts of: Waves, Electricity and Magnetism, Forces and Motion, Work and Power. 

    Throughout the school year, students will participate in high level, engaging lessons along with hands on labs and explorations of our content. By using various methods of instruction to engage our student population, the course work in 8th grade Science has been designed to meet the needs of all of our learners at Hendricks. At the end of the school year, students will complete the high school End of Course (EOC) test.

    It is going to be a fantastic year!

    Chelsea Jacoby: cjacoby@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    Jessica Strader, Department Chair: jstrader@forsyth.k12.ga.us