•  

    Welcome to the Social Studies Department at Hendricks!

  • Map

    6th Grade Social Studies 

    Students will begin their two year World Studies journey starting with the 6th grade Social Studies curriculum. They will study the geography, government, economics and history of Europe, Canada, Latin America and Australia.  The geography domain’s goal is to allow students to become familiar with both physical and human geography and how it plays a role in their lives.  The government domain focuses on various types of governments found in Europe, Canada, Latin America, and Canada so that students can begin to understand the different  governments around the world. The economics domain builds on previous elementary school standards; however, the focus shifts from the United States to how other countries answer the basic economic questions. In the second semester, students will also apply the economic standards to their visit to the Junior Achievement Biztown center.  Students will participate in a simulated experience running a business, and being a part of the JA Biztown community.  The history domain focuses on significant events in each region during the 20th and 21st centuries. 

    6th Grade Standards of Excellence 

    Stephanie Rushwin (Department Chair)  srushwin@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Ashlee Welch    awelch@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Kyle Pullano    kpullano@forsyth.k12.ga.us

     

    7th Grade Social Studies 

    Students will study the geography, history, economy and governments of Asia and Africa in seventh grade. Geographically, students will analyze the cultures, location, and environmental issues of these regions to further understand the way people live in these areas.  Students will study the history of Africa and Asia; the historical focus is largely on the 19th century to present-day issues facing the regions. Additionally, students will learn economic and government concepts and how each applies to Asia and Africa.  Finally, they will examine modern economic and political systems in Asia and Africa.  

    7th Grade Standards of Excellence 

    David Berger     dberger@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Stacey Brewer     sbrewer@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Robby Southard

     

    GA Studies

    8th Grade Social Studies

    The purpose of this course is for students to gain a greater comprehension of the state of Georgia through an examination of its geography, history, government, and economics. It is through this study that students will grow to understand Georgia’s role in the history of the United States of America and its importance as a state in modern times.

    8th Grade Standards of Excellence 

    Joe Wilson    jwilson54@forsyth.k12.ga.us

    Susan Townsend    stownsend@forsyth.k12.ga.us