• Department of Exceptional Students

     
    Forsyth County School System special education programs are founded upon the belief that all children are capable of learning and being successful in school experiences which are designed to develop academic, social, emotional, behavioral, and independence skills for active participation in their community. The district offers a variety of services and resources for parents.  Click HERE  for the district web page.
     

    Tips for Parents

    Parent Portal in Infinite Campus is a web-based application and allows you access to pertinent information about your child’s performance, attendance, health records. Information is available at Parent Portal Instructions.

    ItsLearning is our Learning Management System and our teachers post copies of assignments, calendars and other info that will help you help your child keep organized.  Find information about ItsLearning at itslearning FAQs for Parents.

    Conferences can be scheduled through your child’s case manager.

    Parent Workshops are offered through the county office.  

     Parent Resource Links
     
     
    Eligibility Requirements

    To receive Special Education services, students must meet Georgia eligibility requirements. Once a student is determined to be eligible under the Individuals with Disabilities Act (IDEA), an IEP or Individualized Education Plan is written and services begin.

    Out of County: 

    Parents or guardians should contact the DeSana Middle School Special Education Department Chair or the Forsyth County Special Education Department. Transfer students will need to provide a current IEP or sign a release of records so that current student information may be obtained. All records will be reviewed by Forsyth County personnel and an IEP committee to determine appropriate services.

     In County: 

    IEP’s from within the county transfer automatically to DMS.
     
     

    Service Models

    General Education: Students with disabilities are served in the general education classroom with no special education personnel support.

    Consultation: Students with disabilities receive one hour / month of service.

    Supportive: Students with disabilities receive service from paraprofessionals in a general education class.

    Co-taught: Students with disabilities receive service from certified teachers in a general education class.

    Special Education Class: Students with disabilities meet in a small group with a special education teacher. Support is offered in 6th - 8th grade Math and Language Arts. There is also a Skills Based Autism (SBA) class at DMS.

     

     
    Department Contact Information
     
    Patrick Coffield                                  pcoffield@forsyth.k12.ga.us                          Assistant Administrator, 504/SST Coordinator
    Jenifer Dipboye                                 jdipboye@forsyth.k12.ga.us                           6th Grade IRR Math Teacher, Department Chair
    Cheryl Williams                                cwilliams97@forsyth.k12.ga.us                      6th Grade IRR ELA Teacher
    Dianne Eidson                                  deidson@forsyth.k12.ga.us                            6th Grade IRR Teacher
    Dan Praskovich                                dpraskovich@forsyth.k12.ga.us                     7th Grade IRR Math/Science Teacher
    Kari Bailey                                        kbailey58@forsyth.k12.ga.us                          7th Grade IRR ELA/Social Studies Teacher
    Carole Ekerberg                                cekerberg@forsyth.k12.ga.us                         7th Grade IRR Teacher
    David Dipboye                                  ddipboye@forsyth.k12.ga.us                           8th Grade IRR Math/Science Teacher
    Jordan Brown                                   jbrown77@forsyth.k12.ga.us                           8th Grade IRR ELA/Social Studies Teacher
    Amanda Copeland                           acopeland@forsyth.k12.ga.us                        Skills Based Autism Teacher
    Tonia McKinney                                tmckinney@forsyth.k12.ga.us                        Skills Based Autism Paraprofessional
    Sara Duncan                                    sduncan23@forsyth.k12.ga.us                         Autism Class Teacher
    Christine Fields                               chfields@forsyth.k12.ga.us                              Autism Class Paraprofessional
    Antoinette Shell                                     ashell@forsyth.k12.ga.us                            Speech Pathologist
    Tracy Woxland                                 twoxland@forsyth.k12.ga.us                          Inclusion Paraprofessional  
    Robyn Guy                                         rguy@forsyth.k12.ga.us                                Inclusion Paraprofessional
    Phyllis Lindsey                                   plindsey@forsyth.k12.ga.us                         Inclusion Paraprofessional