Return to Headlines

FCS BOE and Superintendent Named State Finalists for Two Honors

The Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA) has named the FCS Board of Education and Superintendent finalists for the 2018 Governance Team of the Year Award. Additionally, the Georgia School Superintendents Association (GSSA) has named Superintendent Jeff Bearden a finalist for the 2018 Georgia Superintendent of the Year.

According to GSBA, the Governance Team of the Year Award is presented annually to one Georgia public school district’s board of education and superintendent who have achieved all-around success in their district.  This recognition is deeply rooted in the components of the Georgia Vision Project’s research-based recommendations for Georgia’s public schools. The 10 finalists were vetted through a stringent application process and a visit by an impartial review team to vet the information in the application. The winner will be chosen by a panel of national experts who perform various leadership roles in the field of public education.

Each year GSSA calls for and accepts Superintendent of the Year nominations from local school boards, Regional Education Service Agencies, business organizations and communities, and education colleagues from all over the state of Georgia. The four finalists were selected from those nominations and they will now compete to be named a single winner and the sole state school superintendent of the year for the state of Georgia. Each has been singled out for their leadership abilities and their excellent skill set in working with their boards, staff, and local communities. This is Dr. Bearden's first time as a finalist in FCS; the other nominees have been finalists in prior years. 
The winners for both honors will be announced at the GSBA/GSSA Annual Conference in December. 


2018 GSBA Governance Team of the Year Finalists
Bleckley County Schools
Chickamauga City Schools
Dawson County Schools
Effingham County Schools
Forsyth County Schools
Gwinnett County Schools
Jefferson City Schools
Lumpkin County Schools
Pierce County Schools
Schley County Schools


2018 GSSA Superintendent of the Year Finalists
Curtis Jones, Bibb County Schools

Samantha Fuhrey, Newton County Schools

Jeff Bearden, Forsyth County Schools

Michael Duncan, Pike County Schools