Return to Headlines

Final Principal Appointment Announced for 2019-20


Mr. Jordan Livermore has been named principal of Cumming Elementary School beginning the 2019-20 school year. Jordan joined the district in 2004 and worked at Vickery Creek and Silver City elementary schools in various positions from teacher to coach. He was also an Assistant Principal at Chestatee and Cumming elementary schools. He has certifications in Early Childhood, Middle Grades Social Science and Language Arts, and Special Education. Jordan’s leadership degree is from the University of North Georgia. Current Cumming Elementary School Principal Ms. Lee Anne Rice will be the district’s Assessment and Accountability Director, filling the position currently held by Ms. Beth Kieffer, who is retiring.


Prior Principal Announcements for 2019-20 included:

Dr. Ben Jones will be principal at Shiloh Point Elementary School beginning the 2019-20 school year. Ben came to Liberty Middle School as a social studies teacher in 2004 and in 2010 took the position of Graduation Coach. In 2012, he was promoted to Assistant Principal at Silver City and moved in 2016 to South Forsyth Middle School as Assistant Principal. He received the GAMPS Hal Beaver Outstanding Assistant Principal Award in 2018. Current Shiloh Point Elementary Principal Mr. Derrick Hershey will the 2019-20 principal at Sawnee Elementary School. 


Mr. Mike Sloop will be principal at Silver City Elementary School beginning the 2019-20 school year.  Mike came to education as a science teacher at Otwell Middle School in 2002 after a career as an engineer in the Atlanta area. He served as Instructional Technology Specialist at OMS for two years and then as Assistant Principal at Big Creek Elementary School in 2013, Little Mill Middle School in 2015 and Desana Middle School in 2018. He was the 2006 Forsyth County Teacher of the Year. Current Silver City Elementary Principal Ms. Paige Andrews will be the 2019-20 principal at Poole's Mill Elementary School, planning for the school's opening in August 2020.