Return to Headlines

Daves Creek ES Named Two-Time National Blue Ribbon School!

blue ribbon

The U.S. Department of Education announced that Daves Creek ES has been named a 2019 National Blue Ribbon School. This recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps. Only 6 public schools in Georgia are included among the 362 schools in the nation to receive the honor this year. View the list of 2019 recipients.

"This is the first year Daves Creek Elementary has been eligible for this tremendous honor after receiving it originally in 2013,” shared Forsyth County School Superintendent Jeff Bearden. "We are so very proud of the work of our dedicated faculty and staff to prepare all learners to lead and succeed. Congratulations to Daves Creek community and thank you for supporting our schools."

According to the U.S. Department of Education, the coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools. In November, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50 private school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank our excellent students and parents for your hard work and dedication to Daves Creek,” shared Daves Creek ES Principal Eric Ashton. “I would also like to thank our outstanding teachers and faculty who stay late, arrive early, and strive to hone and improve their craft every day. Thank you for your unwavering dedication to our students and their families!”

Other Forsyth County schools that have received the National Blue Ribbon designation include Big Creek ES, Brookwood ES, Johns Creek ES, Otwell MS (two-time winner), Riverwatch MS, Settles Bridge ES, Sharon ES, and South Forsyth MS.